When My Grandmother Became a Widow….

Widows tend to suffer in silence. Not wanting to be a burden, it is typical for a widow to put on a brave smile.  A strange noise in the house that awakens them  2 a.m., keeping her terrified and unable to go back to sleep,  is nothing compared to the emotional pain of feeling alone and forgotten. Most widows will not mention that people stop calling after a couple of months. Widows won’t hint that they desperately desire something as simple as a phone call, but when asked directly about it many, with tears in their eyes, will nod. 

When my grandmother became a widow, we were all there that day, for the service.  Grandma had lived through the depression. She was tough and she’d get over it.
When my co-worker became a widow, we took up a collection and bought a ham. Her husband had been sick and now we figured, she will be free to go and do more things.
When my neighbor became a widow, I didn’t know her well, but I saw some cars at her house and knew that she had some friends.  I bought a card, had some of the other neighbors sign it and then dropped it off.

When my mom became a widow, lots of people came to Dad’s celebration of life service. Hugging Mom, several people told her to let them know if she needed anything … so I was sure that she’d be just fine.

When my sister was widowed early, her husband had been such a people person that lots of flowers were sent. Surely some of those friends or someone from the church will check in on her, from time to time. 

 

 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
It is a real possibility that a married woman will become a widow.  Every year, in the US  251,000 men  become widowers and 600,000 women become widows . Currently there are 100,000 widows and widowers in Oklahoma. If someday,  you are widowed, wouldn’t you like to know that there will be someone there for you?

Google this string of keywords: loneliness is a silent killer

Isaiah 1:17 “Learn to do Right; Seek Justice. Defend the oppressed. Take up the cause of the Fatherless: plead the cause of the widow.”

 READ MORE ON THIS SITE ABOUT WIDOWS 

IS THERE ANYONE WHO WILL SPEAK UP FOR THE WIDOW?

 Purple heart Facebook: A Heart for the Widowed

This entry was posted in Baby Boomers, Blessings, Great ideas!, Oklahoma, Oklahomans helping Oklahomans, Senior Citizens, Tulsa, Widows and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to When My Grandmother Became a Widow….

  1. Hank Williams Lyrics.....Widows and widowers many times feel like this. says:

    “I’m So Lonesome I Could Cry”

    Hear that lonesome whippoorwill
    He sounds too blue to fly
    The midnight train is whining low
    I’m so lonesome I could cry

    I’ve never seen a night so long
    When time goes crawling by
    The moon just went behind the clouds
    To hide its face and cry

    Did you ever see a robin weep
    When leaves begin to die?
    Like me, he’s lost the will to live
    I’m so lonesome I could cry

    The silence of a falling star
    Lights up a purple sky
    And as I wonder where you are
    I’m so lonesome I could cry

    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    May God Bless and keep them.

  2. Tate says:

    Wait……Who will stand up for me when it is my turn?

  3. Kimberly says:

    The time to repair the roof is when the sun is still shining John F. Kennedy

    The time to prepare is by helping widows and widowers now, before we are one who needs help and there is none!
    Ask yourself will there be anyone for me if I don’t bother to help now? Who will speak up for me

  4. Pingback: Starving Widows in Oklahoma! | Tulsage.com

  5. Dawn says:

    is a short but good video about what they are doing for widows in Duncan Oklahoma

  6. Dawn says:

    http://www.sitgm.org/widows a good site about small groups for widows. Stand in the Gap “Small groups” where widows and widowers meet are volunteer driven; minimum time is required from pastoral leadership.

Leave a Reply

